University of Calcutta

Kolkata - India

Admission 2024 - 2025


The University of Calcutta was established in the year 1857. The university is situated in the city of Kolkata which is the capital of Indian state West Bengal. The university is one of the most prominent universities in India. The university imparts education in a wide verity of academic fields. The university has a reputation of being regarded as ‘Five Star University and a Centre with Potential for Excellence’ by University Grants Commission and National Assessment and Accreditation Council. The university has a round 136 colleges affiliated to it.

Programs and Courses

The university offers undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral programs. Following are the faculties along with their departments. Faculty of Agriculture: This faculty consists only one department called the Institute of Agricultural Science and offers post graduate courses on Agronomy, Agriculture Chemistry and Soil Science, Agriculture and Rural Development, Agriculture and Resource Economics, Animal Science, Fisheries, Horticulture, Genetics & Plant Breeding, Soil and Water Science; and Seed Science & Technology among others. Faculty of Arts: This faculty consists of 21 departments offering courses on... Ancient Indian History and Culture, Archaeology, Arabic & Parisian, Bengali Language and Literature, Comparative Literature, Economics, English Language and Literature, Hindi, History, Linguistic, Musicology, Pali, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Policy & Administration, Sociology, Sanskrit, South and South-East Asian Studies. Faculty of Commerce, Social Welfare & Business Management: This faculty consists of the Departments of Business Management and Commerce. Faculty of Education, Journalism and Library Science: This faculty consists of three departments that offer courses on Education, Journalism and Mass Communication, and Library & Information science. Faculty of Engineering & Technology: This faculty consists of the Departments of... Applied Optics and Photonics, Applied Physics, Chemical Engineering, Chemical Technology, Computer Science and Engineering, Information Technology, Polymer Science and Technology, Radio physics and Electronics. Faculty of Fine Arts, Music and Home Science: This faculty consists of the Department of Home Science, which offers courses on subjects such as... Food and Nutrition, Human Development, Home Science. Faculty of Law: This faculty comprises only the Department of Law. Established in January 1909 as the "University College of Law," it was granted the status as the Department of Law of the university in February 1983. Faculty of Science: This faculty has nineteen departments. This faculty offers courses on traditional science subjects like... Anthropology, Botany, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Geology, Geography, Physics, Statistics, Zoology; as well as subjects like... Atmospheric Science, Biotechnology, Bioinformatics, Environmental Science, Earth Science, Electronic Science, Genetics, Microbiology, Marine science, Neuroscience, Pure Mathematics, Psychology.

Admission Procedure 2024 - 2025

The admissions are awarded through entrance test and on merit basis. It depends on the department in which one is applying for admissions. Generally, it is must for every individual to have intermediate education in order to apply for admissions in the undergraduate programs and for the admissions in the postgraduate courses one must possess a bachelor’s degree. For foreign students Minimum GMAT score = 650 Minimum GRE score = 320 Minimum SAT score = 2000 is required.

More Universities