Assam University


Admission 2024 - 2025


Assam University was established in 1994 according to an act of 1989. University has become a great center of learning for students. The University campus is located 20 km away from Silchar. The campus spreads over an area of 600 acres that is surrounded by huge mountains and lakes. It has more than 230 faculties contains numerous disciplines. The university has contemporary, sustainable and multidisciplinary approach to higher education authorities. Assam University has 35 departments that are working under its sixteen schools.


Rabindranath Tagore School of Indian Languages and Cultural Studies, Suniti Kumar Chattopadhyay School of English and Foreign Language Studies, Mahatma Gandhi School of Economics and Commerce, Jadunath Sarkar School of Social Sciences, Abanindranath Tagore School of Creative Arts and Communication Studies, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan School of Philosophy, Ashutosh Mukhopadhyay School of Education, Albert Einstein School of Physical Sciences, Hargobind Khurana School of Life Sciences, Triguna Sen School of Technology, Susruta School of Medical and Paramedical Sciences, Aryabhatta School of Earth Sciences, Swami Vivekananda School of Library Sciences, Deshabandhu Chittaranjan School of Legal Studies and Jawarharlal Nehru School of Management


Department of Linguistics, Department of Bengali, Department of Hindi, Department of Manipuri, Department of Assamese, Department of Sanskrit, Department of English, Department of Arabic, Department of French, Department of Economics, Department of Commerce, Department of Political Science, Department of History, Department of Sociology, Department of Social Work, Department of Mass Communication, Department of Visual Arts, Department of Philosophy, Department of Educational Science, Department of Physics, Department of Chemistry, Department of Mathematics, Department of Computer Science, Department of Life Science & Bioinformatics, Department of Microbiology, Department of Biotechnology, Department of Business Administration, Department of Ecology & Environmental Science, Department of Agricultural Engineering, Department of Information Technology,Department of Electronics & Telecommunication, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Department of Earth Sciences, Department of Library & Information Science, Department of Law

Programs and Courses

Assam University offers courses such as: Arabic, Bengali, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Ecology & Environment Science, Commerce, Earth Science , Economics, Education, English, French, Hindi, History, Law, Library Science, Life Science & Bioinformatics, Mass Communication, Mathematics, Microbiology, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Sanskrit, Social Work, Sociology, Visual Arts, Computer Science in undergraduate, masters and post graduate programs.

Admission Procedure 2024 - 2025

For any program of any course the candidate must possess more than 45 percent of marks in the last examination. The eligibility criterion varies from 45 – 50 percentages in different programs. There is also and entrance test which is mandatory for every student to pass in order to get admission in different subjects.

More Universities